Dubai as a jurisdiction

Dubai is one of the seven emirates that make up the United Arab Emirates (UAE), formed on 2nd December 1971. It is the most populous city of the federation and is located along the southern coast of the Persian Gulf on the Arabian Peninsula. The city has a population of approximately 2.5 Million people (2016), a major proportion of who are expatriates.

Although the economy was initially built on the back of the oil industry - oil was first struck in the mid 1960’s - Dubai has since developed a diverse economy and the oil sector now accounts for only around 4% of GDP. The government of Dubai is committed to liberal, free market policies and to the creation of a business environment conducive to commercial activity. The city has broad based economy with thriving finance, manufacturing and IT sectors. More recently tourism has been a focus for development with many luxury hotels, the worlds’ tallest building and an indoor ski slope amongst the attractions.

The area has a sub-tropical climate with mild temperate winters and very hot summers. There is very little rainfall, even in the winter months.

The current ruler, Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, is head of the Al Maktoum family who have ruled since 1833, and Sheikh Mohamed – as he is known - is also the Prime Minister and Vice President of the UAE.

Dubai shares its legal, political, military and economic functions with the other six emirates within a federal framework, although each emirate has jurisdiction over some functions such as civic law enforcement and the upkeep of local facilities. Dubai has the largest population and is the second largest emirate by area, after Abu Dhabi, which is also the Capital.

The UAE became a member of the United Nations and the Arab League in 1971. It is a member of the International Monetary Fund, the Organisation of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC), World Trade Organisation and other international and Arab organisations, including the Gulf Co-operation Council (GCC), whose other members are Saudi Arabia, Oman, Qatar, Bahrain and Kuwait. In its foreign relations, the UAE's stance is one of non-alignment but it is committed to the support of Arab unity.

In this section:

Contact our Dubai office directly.

Click here to speak to us today.